Sardothien Investments
Pegasus Intelligence
Please complete all fields below to access this document.
Investment Committee Confidential

Project Pegasus — Residential, Industrial & Data Centre Intelligence

Deep-Dive Due Diligence | Residential Pipeline, Occupier Register & Lease Terms, Hyperscaler A Transactions & Digital Infrastructure Demand
Ticker: [REDACTED] — LSE Main Market Companion to: Pegasus Acquisition & Development Strategy Date: August 2026 Classification: INVESTMENT COMMITTEE CONFIDENTIAL Redacted Edition — counterparty, site & location identities codenamed Edition: Three Asset Classes — Residential, Industrial & Data Centres
Aerial view at dusk of the former Site Alpha power station site in the North of England being regenerated into a hyperscale data centre campus, with data halls under construction, substation infrastructure and a nearby river.

1. Executive Summary & Key Findings

Purpose of this Report

This deep-dive supplements the April 2026 Pegasus Acquisition & Development Strategy. It compiles all material public information on: (i) the tenants and lease terms across the Target's industrial and commercial Investment Portfolio; (ii) the completed Hyperscaler A land purchase at Site Alpha in the North of England; (iii) the pending Hyperscaler A completion (Plot 2); and (iv) all other publicly evidenced hyperscaler and AI-sector interest in the Target's powered land opportunities. All facts are drawn from RNS announcements, audited results, planning records and reputable trade press, and are individually referenced in Section 10. Redaction protocol: to protect Sardothien's position, the target company is referred to throughout as "the Target" (codename: Project Pegasus); its sites are codenamed Site Alpha–India, the incumbent bidder is Bidder X, the completed-deal hyperscaler is Hyperscaler A, and identifying locations, planning references and register details are redacted. Mandate tailoring: this edition addresses an investor across all three asset classes — residential, industrial and data centres — with a dedicated residential platform section (4), the industrial occupier and lease-length register (3), the hyperscale deep-dives (5–7) and three-class structuring analysis (8.6).

Headline Finding

THESIS VALIDATED — ENTRY REPRICED BY LIVE OFFER

The public record materially validates the core Sardothien thesis: the Target is a deeply discounted powered-land platform with institutional-grade occupier demand. The Hyperscaler A Site Alpha transaction — the Target's largest-ever land sale at £106.6 million, delivering an expected IRR of over 40% on a site acquired for £3 million in 2014 — is a completed, audited proof of concept for the powered-land value strategy.[10][11] Since our April report, two events have transformed the situation: on 5 August 2026 the Target confirmed it is in advanced negotiations with several counterparties for a second hyperscale data centre site, with potential value gains ahead of the Hyperscaler A deal[14]; on 19 August 2026 the Target announced a signed exclusivity agreement with a leading data centre provider for that site and quantified a pipeline of up to six hyperscale land sales backed by c.0.9GW of secured or indicated power[21]; and on 6 August 2026 Bidder X launched an unsolicited 172.5p cash offer (£582.9 million) for the company, which the Target board unanimously rejected on 7 August as fundamentally undervaluing the business.[1][2][3] The market is now pricing a control event at a level ~30% below our modelled 246p maximum bid — the acquisition window is live and competitive.

Income Quality Confirmed

The tenant register is institutional grade and near-fully let: EPRA vacancy of 1.0%, a WAULT of 9.6 years to break / 11.2 years to expiry, 99% rent collection, and 2025 leasing at a 10.4% like-for-like uplift on previous headline rents.[4][5] Named occupiers include Amazon, Aldi, Lidl, MBDA, Boeing, Rolls-Royce, McLaren, the UK Atomic Energy Authority, Octopus Energy, Uniserve, Dunelm, Greene King, Komatsu and Costa — detailed with lease terms in Section 3.

£727.3M
EPRA NDV (Dec 2025) — 224.4p/sh
172.5p
Bidder X Cash Offer (6 Aug 2026)
£305.0M
I&L Standing Investment Portfolio — industrial assets only
£937.2M
Total Portfolio Value (EPRA) — all asset classes
29,386
Residential Plot Pipeline — 3,065 consented
11.2 YRS
WAULT to Expiry
1.0%
EPRA Vacancy
0.8GW
Power Connections Pipeline

What the Diligence Confirms

  1. Hyperscaler A deal is real, completed (Plot 1) and highly profitable -- £106.6M for 48 acres; >40% IRR; £135.7M total site sales vs £36.7M invested[10][11]
  2. Second hyperscale transaction now in signed exclusivity (19 Aug 2026) -- exclusivity agreement with a leading data centre provider; accepted power connection offer in place; value gains potentially ahead of deal one[14][21]
  3. Pipeline quantified at up to SIX hyperscale land sales -- c.0.9GW of accepted or indicated power across six freehold/option/partnership-controlled sites, all but one already in planning, plus a colocation and edge pipeline[21]
  4. Residential cash engine -- 29,386-plot pipeline assessed at £881M cash value vs £254M book; 3,065 consented plots saleable in Year 1; grant-supported remediation economics[19][20]
  5. 0.8GW of power connections conditionally secured or in Network Operator pipelines -- value not reflected in EPRA NDV[4][14]
  6. Blue-chip tenant base with long leases -- 76% Grade A by value, reversionary yield 6.2% vs 4.6% net initial[4]
  7. Income quality fits a long-duration mandate -- 99.0% occupancy (1.0% EPRA vacancy), 11.2-year WAULT to expiry, and a register of 10-20 year term-certain leases to investment-grade covenants[4][5][18]
  8. Control is contestable -- Bidder X's rejected 172.5p offer establishes a price floor and confirms strategic appetite for the platform[1][3]

2. Material Development — The Bidder X Offer (August 2026)

Situation Alert: The target is in an offer period under the UK Takeover Code. On 6 August 2026, the bidding vehicle — an indirect wholly-owned subsidiary of the Bidder X parent group — announced an unsolicited cash offer of 172.5 pence per share for the Target, valuing the issued share capital at approximately £582.88 million. The Target board rejected the offer "unanimously and unequivocally" on 7 August 2026.[1][2][3] All diligence in this report should be read against this live corporate event.

2.1 Offer Terms

TermDetailSource / Notes
Offer price172.5p per share, cashFirm offer announcement, 6 Aug 2026[1]
Equity value£582.88M (issued and to-be-issued capital)337,900,485 shares basis[1]
Premium to prior close20.1% (143.6p, 5 Aug 2026)LSE closing price[1]
Premium to 1-month VWAP36.9% (126.0p)Bloomberg VWAP to 5 Aug 2026[1]
Premium to 3-month VWAP36.0% (126.8p)Bloomberg VWAP to 5 Aug 2026[1]
Maximum cash consideration~£417.5M (shares not already held)Funded from Bidder X cash resources; investment-bank funding confirmation[1]
Bidder X existing holding29.96% via Bidder X-affiliated holding vehicles & concert parties (97,949,409 shares)Opening position disclosure[1]
Acceptance condition>50% of voting rightsOffer document due within 28 days of 6 Aug 2026[1]
Market reactionShares +19-22% to 170.6p-174.6p (6 Aug); ~181p (7 Aug, 15:40)Market pricing above the offer implies expectation of a raised or competing bid[2][3]

2.2 Bidder X's Stated Rationale — and Why It Supports Our Thesis

Bidder X — a long-term holder since the UK Coal era — argues that the Target's assets "would be best owned, managed and developed under its full control", citing a structural valuation discount, a concentrated register (the largest three shareholders hold ~75.7%: Bidder X-affiliated vehicles/Bidder X ~30%, The a private investment vehicle, and the a UK pension protection fund), nine years without an equity raise, and a cash-flow profile in which FY2025 administrative expenses (£36.34M) and net interest (£10.6M) exceed passing rental income (£14.7M). Bidder X would delist the company, cut headcount, and pivot toward strategic land and selective development.[1][2]

Bidder X's critique is, in substance, an endorsement of the Sardothien platform-restructuring thesis: a private owner with permanent capital and a development-led model can extract value the listed structure cannot. Where our strategy diverges from Bidder X's is on the powered-land and data centre upside — Bidder X's strategic-land pivot would monetise it opportunistically; our model industrialises it.

2.3 Target Board Response

The board stated it had no prior engagement with Bidder X, and rejected the offer as "fundamentally undervaluing the Target and its near and longer-term prospects", describing the timing as "opportunistic… to take advantage of a material dislocation between the Target's share price and the value of its underlying assets". It cited an average 8.1% total accounting return over five years, the 0.8GW power-enabled land bank, and a second hyperscale data centre opportunity as evidence of untapped value, and flagged an agreed-in-principle medium-term cost-reduction plan.[3]

Read-across for Sardothien: (i) the offer sets a hard floor of 172.5p while the market trades above it — our April 2026 preferred entry of 231-240p (£750-780M) now sits in credible winning-bid territory rather than theoretical premium space; (ii) Bidder X must publish its offer document by early September 2026, with a Day-60 timetable running into early October — the window for a competing proposal is weeks, not months; (iii) the register's concentration (~75.7% in three hands) means the acquisition is winnable or losable in a small number of conversations — cornerstone engagement is the critical path.[1][3]

3. Tenant Register & Lease Terms — Industrial & Commercial Portfolio

3.1 Investment Portfolio Composition (as at 31 December 2025)

the Target's core income-generating Industrial & Logistics Investment Portfolio comprised 10 sites covering 2.3 million sq ft, valued at £305.0 million, 76% Grade A by value (64% by area), with headline rental income of £18.3M and passing rental income of £14.7M.[4] Important clarification: this £305M figure covers only the industrial & logistics standing investment portfolio. It is one component of a much larger whole: the Target's total portfolio was valued at £937.2M (EPRA) at FY2025 — industrial & logistics c.£623M (of which the £305M standing portfolio is the income-producing core), residential c.£288M, and natural resources & other c.£32M — supporting EPRA net disposal value of £727.3M.[4][19]

SiteLocation / RegionOwnershipArea (sq ft)Status Highlights
Advanced Manufacturing CampusSouth YorkshireFreehold368,000Flagship; 100% occupied; rents exceeding £10 psf[4][6]
Site Foxtrot (business park & industrial warehouses)North West EnglandFreehold422,00029 acres retained post partial disposal; last disclosed NIY 7.7% / reversionary 9.0%[4][18]
Site Golfthe MidlandsFreehold339,000Fully-let Grade A[4]
the Regional Innovation AssetSouth YorkshireFreehold285,000Acquired Oct 2024 for £43.7M; now fully let[4][6]
Site Hotel (agrochemical works & industrial)the North of EnglandFreehold252,000Fully let[4]
Site Echothe MidlandsFreehold169,000Pre-let in full to Uniserve; PC Aug 2025[4][5]
Site India (multi-let industrial estate)the East MidlandsFreehold166,000Income-producing[4]
Site DeltaSouth YorkshireFreehold110,000100% occupied incl. Dunelm[4][5]
the Flagship Logistics Park (retained)North West EnglandFreehold104,000Part of 250-acre park — see 3.4[4]
JV Logistics PortfolioNorth West England20% JV share87,000JV with institutional capital partners[4][7]
Total2,302,000

Mandate Fit — Long-Duration Income Screen

Against the target investor mandate — industrial & commercial standing assets, high occupancy, minimum 10-year leases — the Investment Portfolio scores strongly on every screen: 99.0% occupancy (1.0% EPRA vacancy); WAULT of 11.2 years to expiry (9.6 years to break); 100% industrial/logistics and commercial use class; 76% Grade A by value with a stated target of 100% Grade A by end-2027; 99% rent collection; and embedded, contractual income growth from a 4.6% net initial yield toward a 6.2% reversionary yield (passing rent £6.38 psf vs Grade A ERV £9.84 psf; +10.4% like-for-like rental growth).[4][18]

3.2 Portfolio-Level Lease Metrics

Metric (31 Dec 2025)ValuePrior YearDiligence Read
WAULT to first break9.6 years10.1 yearsLong-dated income security[4]
WAULT to expiry11.2 years11.4 yearsInstitutional-grade duration[4]
EPRA vacancy1.0%5.6%Effectively fully let post-Dec 2025 lettings[4][5]
Weighted average passing rent£6.38 psf£5.90 psf+8% year-on-year[4]
Grade A ERV£9.84 psf£9.10 psfHeadline rents ~15-19% below ERV = reversion[4]
Net initial yield4.6%4.8%34% reversionary spread = embedded income growth[4]
Reversionary yield6.2%6.5%
Rent collection99.0%Minimal credit loss experience[4]
Like-for-like headline rent growth (2025)+10.4%+4.9%Lettings, renewals and reviews ahead of prior rents[4]

3.3 Advanced Manufacturing Campus, South Yorkshire — Flagship

Aerial view of an advanced manufacturing technology park in South Yorkshire on reclaimed colliery land, with modern manufacturing units, research campus buildings and tree-lined avenues.

Illustrative aerial — advanced manufacturing campus on regenerated brownfield land (Sardothien visualisation)

The 150-acre the Advanced Manufacturing Campus — developed on reclaimed colliery land and designated part of the UK Government's first Investment Zone — is one of the UK's premier advanced manufacturing ecosystems. the Target owns the land and has designed and built bespoke units for blue-chip occupiers.[7][8]

OccupierUnit / SizeLease Terms (Public)Notes
Insight (technology solutions)73,000 sq ft15-year lease, agreed 2024 at practical completionMajor European Solutions Integration Centre[7]
Technicut (aerospace tooling)80,000 sq ftPre-let; completed 2025; innovative green lease incorporating renewable energyNew UK HQ; transferred to Investment Portfolio; part of £2.7M new headline rent[4][7]
McLaren Automotive (Composites Technology Centre)75,000 sq ft bespoke unit20-year lease signed 2017; built by the Target 2018Unit sold by the Target in 2025 as a Grade A investment disposal (asset-management completion)[4][8]
Danieli & C (global steel plant engineering)UK head office (build-to-suit)Development management structure (revenue recognised 2024)Major UK investment commitment[7]
UK Atomic Energy Authority22,300 sq ft research facilityBuilt by the Target (completed ahead of schedule)Nuclear fusion research[7]
Safety Engineering ProductsUnit at the Advanced Manufacturing Campus10-year leaseHeight-safety equipment manufacturer[7]
Costa Coffee (the Target head-office scheme)1,800 sq ft15-year leaseRoadside/amenity unit[7]
Existing occupier (unnamed)180,000 sq ft (H1-2026 pre-let)Pre-let; unit to be built and held in Investment PortfolioOne of three pre-lets generating £3.7M rent at 17% premium to ERV[14]
Wider park ecosystem (non-the Target-owned buildings / land sales): Boeing (Boeing), Rolls-Royce, a partner university AMRC and Nuclear AMRC, Bodycote, Sandvik Coromant, Metalysis, Nikken Europe, Castings Technology International, X-Cel Superturn, The Welding Institute, and ~40 manufacturing/technology businesses in the Advanced Manufacturing Campus Technology Centre[7][8]

3.4 the Flagship Logistics Park, North West England — North West Anchor

Aerial view of a modern UK logistics park with Grade A big-box warehouses, rooftop solar panels, HGV service yards and a motorway junction in the distance.

Illustrative aerial — Grade A logistics park, North West England (Sardothien visualisation)

the Flagship Logistics Park is the North West's largest live commercial development: a 250-acre former opencast coal site (Cutacre) with outline consent for 4M sq ft, now substantially built out with over 5,500 people employed on site and an estimated ~£300M annual GVA contribution at completion.[9] the Target retains 104,000 sq ft freehold plus a 20% share (87,000 sq ft) of the 430,000+ sq ft logistics JV multi-unit scheme, a 2017 joint venture with the an institutional partner Real Estate Fund managed by Knight Frank Investment Management (Lancashire County Pension Fund).[4][7]

OccupierSize / UnitLease Terms (Public)Year
Aldi (regional distribution centre)600,000 sq ftLong lease signed 2013 (first anchor)2013[9]
MBDA (defence)100,000 sq ft on 8-acre plotSite acquisition / own facility (relocated from Lostock)2014[9]
Amazon149,300 sq ft, Unit F2/G (logistics JV)Lease via logistics JV2021[9]
Hardscape Products44,771 sq ft, Unit F2/A15-year lease2018[7]
rijo42 (coffee systems)20,344 sq ft, Unit F2/E15-year lease; £7.25 psf headline2018[7]
PJH Group (bathroom products)62,952 sq ftLease via logistics JV2019[9]
Northern Building Plastics / Vaclensa52,871 sq ft combined (C4/C5 units)10-year leases2018[7]
Further occupiers: Whistl, Greene King, Costa, Komatsu, Lidl, Solus, The Incontinence Shop and a pharmaceutical supplier; final 50,800 sq ft unit under offer at build-out (2021)[7][9]

3.5 The Regional Innovation Asset — Urban Logistics

Acquired October 2024 for £43.7M (5.4% net initial yield) — the Target's largest I&L investment acquisition. Five Grade A units totalling 285,000 sq ft, completed 2023, adjacent to the Advanced Manufacturing Campus. 90% let at acquisition with a WAULT of 6.6 years to break / 10.1 years to expiry; fully let by December 2025. Headline rent £2.2M rising to £2.5M when fully let. Anchor occupier: Octopus Energy (Octopus Energy Services), 91,923 sq ft for in-home green technology installation logistics.[5][6]

3.6 Site Delta, South Yorkshire

Completed phases now 100% occupied.[5]

  • Dunelm (FTSE 250 retailer) — c.20,400 sq ft Grade A unit, 10-year lease (2024), supporting its Home Delivery Network[7]
  • Lucy & Yak (fashion e-commerce) — Unit 3[8]
  • 50,000 sq ft letting of previously vacant space completed 15 September 2025[5]
  • H1-2026: 30,700 sq ft pre-let to a national logistics operator for last-mile parcel and postal distribution (unit to be built and retained in the Investment Portfolio)[14]
  • Roadside/retail parade: Screwfix, Costa, Starbucks, McDonald's, Dunkin' Donuts, Taco Bell, Farmhouse Inns, Aldi, KFC[8]
  • Remaining consent: up to 1.1M sq ft across 95 acres; Unit 4 (131,425 sq ft) consented and marketing at institutional lease terms[8]

3.7 Site Echo, the Midlands

the Target's largest single-unit speculative development: 169,400 sq ft reaching practical completion August 2025 and let in its entirety to Uniserve (UK logistics provider) on a 10.25-year term-certain lease at £1.6M annualised rent (≈£9.45 psf) — announced December 2025 as the lead transaction in a 267,000 sq ft letting package delivered at £9.28 psf weighted average, 1.4% ahead of ERV and 12.6% above the portfolio's Grade A headline rent.[4][5]

3.8 2025 Investment Portfolio Disposals (Recycling Evidence)

AssetLocationAreaRationale
McLaren unit, the Advanced Manufacturing CampusSouth Yorkshire75,000 sq ftGrade A unit built 2018; asset-management plan completed[4]
Brierley HillWest Midlands373,000 sq ftSecondary asset[4]
Sherburn in Elmetthe North of England252,000 sq ftSecondary asset[4]
A19 Business ParkNorth Yorkshire61,000 sq ftSecondary asset[4]
Site Foxtrot (part disposal)North West England6 acres open storagePartial; 29 acres + income unit retained[4]
Total FY2025 IP disposals: £47.7M, at headline pricing ahead of book values — demonstrating exit liquidity across the register[4]

3.9 Lease-Length Register — Mandate-Qualifying Tenancies (≥10 Years)

The following publicly evidenced tenancies meet the investor's minimum 10-year lease requirement. Where a unit-level term is not publicly disclosed, the site-level WAULT is shown and flagged with an asterisk.

OccupierSite (codename)Area (sq ft)Lease TermIncome Detail
McLaren (rental stream sold 2025)Advanced Manufacturing Campus75,00020 yearsLongest evidenced origination; income sold ahead of book in FY2025 recycling[4][7]
Insight (IT services)Advanced Manufacturing Campus73,00015 yearsDesign-and-build HQ letting[7]
Costa Coffee (roastery)Advanced Manufacturing Campus15 yearsManufacturing/distribution facility[7]
rijo42 (coffee systems)the Flagship Logistics Park15 years£7.25 psf[7]
Hardscape (landscaping products)the Flagship Logistics Park15 yearsHQ & distribution letting[7]
Uniserve (logistics)Site Echo169,40010.25 years, term-certain£1.6M p.a. (≈£9.45 psf); single-unit pre-let, PC Aug 2025[4][5]
Safety Engineering ProductsAdvanced Manufacturing Campus10 yearsManufacturing letting[7]
NBP / Vaclensathe Flagship Logistics Park10 yearsDistribution letting[9]
Dunelm (retail distribution)Site Delta20,40010 years100% occupied estate[5][8]
Octopus Energy (anchor)the Regional Innovation Asset91,923Site WAULT 10.1 yrs to expiry*Anchor of fully-let 285,000 sq ft estate; £2.5M estate rent[5][6]

*Unit-level term not publicly disclosed; site-level WAULT to expiry shown. The register above is additive to a long tail of 5–10 year lettings across the portfolio. Note for mandate structuring: several of the longest-dated income streams have historically been sold once stabilised (e.g. the 20-year McLaren unit) — under Sardothien ownership the equivalent pipeline would be retained and compounded.[4]

Income Diligence Conclusion: The register combines investment-grade covenants (Amazon, Aldi, MBDA, McLaren, Octopus Energy, Uniserve, Dunelm, UKAEA) with long-dated leases (11.2-year WAULT to expiry), near-zero vacancy (1.0%) and proven reversion (+10.4% like-for-like; renewals/reviews averaging +16% to +22% uplifts in recent periods). Passing rent of £6.38 psf against a £9.84 psf Grade A ERV provides a contractual growth runway independent of market conditions. The income base is real, durable and growing — but at £14.7M passing it does not yet cover group overheads and interest (£46.9M FY2025), which is precisely the gap a scaled development-and-hold programme (target: £0.9Bn portfolio by 2029) is designed to close.[1][4][5]

4. The Residential Platform — 29,386-Plot Pipeline

The Target is one of the UK's largest brownfield residential landholders: a pipeline of 29,386 housing plots on largely former colliery and industrial land, carried at a book value of just £254M but assessed in-house at £881M of cash value on sale — the single largest monetisation engine in the acquisition model.

4.1 Pipeline Composition & Assessed Value

TranchePlotsBook ValueAssessed Cash ValueBasis
Consented (37% freehold / 63% other)3,065£192.3M£187M£61k per plot; no further development cost; saleable Year 1[19][20]
Strategic — freehold (37%)9,739£61.5M£694M£61k per plot once consented[19][20]
Strategic — other control (63%)16,582≈£99M net margin equivalent£6k per plot margin + refund of planning costs[19][20]
Total29,386£253.8M£881M3.5x book on in-house assumptions[19]

"Other" control comprises JV arrangements (c.14%), options (c.10%) and promotion agreements (c.39%) — a capital-light structure that limits cash at risk pre-consent.[19]

4.2 Unit Economics & the Public-Funding Tailwind

Cost / Funding ItemQuantumNote
Planning cost£1k / plotFull cost stack c.£20k / plot against a £61k sale value[19][20]
Development cost£4k / plot
Remediation cost£15k / plot
Combined Authority grantsup to £15k+ / plotCan substantially offset remediation; in-house model assumes £15k/plot grant on strategic freehold plots[19][20]
Homes England development loansFacility-scale, market ratesAvailable once a site has consent; can roll over as a revolving facility; funds infrastructure, abnormal costs and affordable housing[19]
Affordable housing overlay100% affordable = faster planningLess onerous s.106 obligations, quicker consents, higher grant intensity; registered-provider partnerships reduce sales risk[19]

4.3 Regeneration DNA — the Moat

The Target's core competence — converting derelict ex-coal and industrial land into consented, remediated, serviced plots — is a scarce, decades-deep capability with strong barriers to entry. Its flagship mixed-use regeneration scheme transformed a former deep-mining complex into a thriving community; a 688-plot former power station scheme is currently in delivery; and the estate includes multiple 300–600-plot consented schemes across the North and Midlands.[11][19] This is precisely the capability the UK Government's housebuilding drive is short of — and agencies are funding it: land remediation grants, infrastructure loans and affordable-housing support are all available to platforms like this one.[19]

4.4 Role in the Three-Asset-Class Strategy

Residential is the cash engine of the model: consented plots (£187M) are saleable in Year 1, the strategic pipeline converts through Years 3–5 (£694M+), and grant funding de-risks the remediation burden. In a three-class structure, residential disposals fund the acquisition payback while the industrial standing portfolio is retained for long-duration income and the powered-land pipeline matures into hyperscale land sales.[19][20]

Why this matters to a three-asset-class investor

One corporate wrapper, acquired at a c.44% discount to NDV, delivers all three exposures simultaneously: residential (29,386 plots, £881M assessed value, grant-supported), industrial (£305M standing portfolio, 99% occupied, 11.2-yr WAULT, plus a 35M sq ft development pipeline with c.£5Bn GDV potential) and data centres (one completed hyperscale sale, one in exclusivity, four more sites identified, c.0.9GW). Each asset class funds or de-risks the others.[4][14][19][21]

5. Deep Dive I — Hyperscaler A at Site Alpha: The Completed Transaction

Aerial twilight view of a hyperscale data centre campus on regenerated brownfield land, with three data hall buildings, cooling galleries, substation and battery storage.

Illustrative visualisation — hyperscale data centre campus on a former power station site (Sardothien visualisation)

5.1 Site Genesis — The Value-Creation Blueprint

DateEventDetail
Dec 2014Acquisitionthe Target acquires the 162-acre former Site Alpha power station (two coal stations, decommissioned 1983 and 1994), south-east the North of England, for c.£3 million[10][11]
2020Energy monetisation19.5-acre land sale to a third-party operator for a 49MW energy-from-waste facility[11]
2021Energy monetisationLease granted for a c.100MW Battery Energy Storage System on a 5.7-acre demise[11]
2023Land assembly & planning21 adjoining acres acquired (2023); consent for 800,000 sq ft I&L (Nov 2023) plus 320,000 sq ft reserved matters (May 2024)[10][11]
27 Jun 2024Hyperscaler A exchangeConditional sale of 48 acres to a Hyperscaler A acquisition vehicle for £106.6M — the Target's largest-ever transaction[10]
Jun 2024Plot 1 completion27 acres completed; £47.9M revenue recognised in FY2024[4][12]
Apr 2026Planning resolutionthe North of England City Council resolution to grant consent for the hyperscale campus[12]
2027 (target)Plot 2 completion21 acres; £53.2M payable on delivery; enabling works ongoing[4][12]

5.2 Transaction Structure & Economics

ComponentPlot 1 (Completed)Plot 2 (Pending)Total
Area27 acres21 acres48 acres
Consideration£51.2M gross (per April 2026 RNS; announced June 2024 as £52.9M plus c.£0.5M power-capacity cost reimbursement)£53.2M on completion of sale£106.6M[10][12]
Book value (31 Dec 2023)£39.0M£12.9M£51.9M[10]
StatusCompleted June 2024; the Target continues remediation/enabling works for Hyperscaler AConditionally exchanged; completion targeted 2027 following April 2026 planning resolution[4][12][13]
£106.6M
Total Consideration
>40%
Expected Site IRR
£135.7M
Total Site Sales (on completion)
£36.7M
Total Site Investment
~£2.2M
Per Acre (Blended)
c.£4Bn
Estimated Inward Investment

the Target's role did not end at the land sale: it acts as developer for Hyperscaler A, delivering remediation and enabling works on both plots — a revenue stream embedded in FY2025's £42.0M build-to-suit development revenue — and retains a 16-acre adjoining plot (c.160,000-250,000 sq ft of employment space with EV charging, under the April 2026 outline consent).[4][12]

5.3 The Consented Campus

the local authority's Plans Panel resolved in April 2026 to approve Hyperscaler A's application (ref. [REDACTED]): full permission for a data centre campus of c.500,000 sq ft across three data halls plus auxiliary buildings on Plots 1 and 2, and outline permission for a c.160,000 sq ft warehouse on the Target's retained 16-acre plot. The three halls (industry-designated LBA10, LBA11, LBA12) each measure approximately 191m × 82m, rise up to 32m across three floors, and include an on-site substation, security gatehouse, water treatment and cooling infrastructure; Hyperscaler A's project team comprises Savills (planning), TTSP (architect), HDR and Ramboll (engineering). Industry reporting indicates construction is slated to begin in early 2027. This will be Hyperscaler A's second campus in the North of England area.[12][13]

Why this matters to the acquisition case: Site Alpha is the completed, audited proof of the exact value-creation sequence the Sardothien strategy proposes to repeat: acquire stranded power-generation land for nominal value (£3M) → remediate and secure planning → monetise power-adjacent uses (EfW, BESS) → sell consented, powered land to a hyperscaler at ~£2.2M per acre → retain a development-management income stream and adjoining upside land. A >40% IRR on the group's largest-ever sale, executed with the world's second-largest cloud provider, removes execution-risk arguments against the platform thesis.[10][11][12]

6. The Pending Hyperscaler A Transaction — Plot 2 & Retained Optionality

The first Hyperscaler A land sale is complete; the second is contracted but not yet completed. Together with the Target's retained acreage at Site Alpha and the enlarged Site Charlie holding, this is the visible forward pipeline of powered-land monetisation — and the clearest short-term test of whether the valuation assumed in the original Pegasus strategy holds.

6.1 Plot 2 — contracted, pending completion

ParameterDetail
StatusConditionally exchanged; completion targeted during 2027 per FY2025 results[4]
Consideration£53.2M payable on delivery[10]
Area21 acres[10]
Book value (announcement)£12.9M[10]
Implied uplift>4x book value[10]
Campus contextSits within the c.500,000 sq ft consented scheme referenced at the Q1-2026 AGM[12]
CounterpartyHyperscaler A[10]

Completion is gated on planning and delivery conditions; the April 2026 planning resolution for the wider campus materially de-risks this path.[12] Until completion, the £53.2M remains contingent cash flow — a live catalyst inside the Bidder X offer timetable.

6.2 The Target's retained 16-acre plot

Alongside the two Hyperscaler A plots, the Target retains c.16 acres at Site Alpha with outline consent for c.160,000 sq ft of warehouse/industrial space.[12][13] This retained plot demonstrates the "sell the powered plots, keep the annuity" pattern: the Target monetises hyperscale land while retaining developable income-producing stock on the same estate.

6.3 Site Charlie — the enlarged Northern data-centre play

ParameterDetail
Locationa prime motorway junction in the North of England — 166 acres[11]
Ownership100% the Target since March 2025 (acquired the former JV partner's 50% share for £20M)[4]
Capacityc.0.8M sq ft industrial/logistics; GDV estimated £150–160M[4]
Planning contextHS2 safeguarding release unlocked the site[11]
Prior sales10 acres to the a regional university (2019); 43 acres to PLP[9]
Strategic angleMarketed as a further powered-land / data-centre-capable opportunity within the regional cluster[11]

Conditions & timing risk

Plot 2 remains conditional: Section 106 obligations, planning discharge and delivery sequencing can all shift completion beyond 2027. The £53.2M should be treated as probability-weighted, not banked — and any slippage narrative is precisely the kind of friction an acquirer must underwrite conservatively in a live offer period.

7. Other Hyperscaler & AI Interest

Beyond Hyperscaler A, the verifiable picture is one of active, unnamed negotiations on a second powered site, a 0.8GW power pipeline underpinning multiple landholdings, and a national AI-infrastructure build-out in which the Target is anchored in two of the three northern clusters. Claims of named interest from Apple, Google or Oracle — asserted in the April strategy — are not supported by any public evidence located.

Hyperscale data centre campus at twilight

7.1 The second hyperscale site — exclusivity signed (19 August 2026)

19 August 2026 RNS — exclusivity agreement signed

Following its 5 August 2026 confirmation of advanced negotiations with several counterparties, the Target has now entered into an exclusivity agreement with a leading data centre provider for a powered land sale at the second site. The site benefits from excellent planning prospects and an accepted power connection offer, with the potential to deliver significant value gains — the 5 August update indicated these could be ahead of those achieved on the Hyperscaler A transaction.[14][21]

Trade-press reporting has tagged Site Bravo, [LOCATION REDACTED] as the likely candidate site.[14] Site Bravo holds consent for c.1.2M sq ft and sits within the Target's enabling-works programme.[14] The counterparty name, pricing and acreage remain undisclosed — exclusivity is a committed negotiating channel, not yet a conditional sale, but it converts "several counterparties" into a single motivated buyer at the table.

7.2 The quantified six-site pipeline (19 August 2026)

The 19 August RNS quantified, for the first time, the full scale of the opportunity: the Target has identified the potential for up to SIX hyperscale data centre land sales from its current portfolio, and is targeting conditional land sales across the pipeline into both the near and medium term.[21]

Pipeline TranchePower SecuredStatus
Sites 1–2 — the Site Alpha transaction and the site now in exclusivity0.4GW of accepted power connection offers, with the prospect of securing higher capacityOne completing (Plot 2, 2027); one in exclusivity[21]
Sites 3–4 — two further sites0.4GW of accepted power connection offersProgressing through planning[21]
Site 50.1GW written indication of a power connection offer; formal offer expected in due courseProgressing through planning[21]
Site 6Anticipated power availability sufficient for hyperscaleStakeholder engagement underway[21]
Ownership & planning: all six sites are owned freehold, controlled through options or held in partnerships; all but one are already progressing through the planning system. A further pipeline of smaller-scale colocation and edge digital-infrastructure projects has been identified across the portfolio.[21]

Why this matters to the acquisition case

The powered-land story has moved from narrative to a quantified, six-site, c.0.9GW pipeline — two transactions already live, four more behind them. The Target's Chief Executive described it as an "irreplicable land portfolio" with "the potential to deliver up to six hyperscale data centres", explicitly positioning the business as "a powered land and industrial & logistics specialist".[21] Under current management this value is crystallised deal-by-deal; under Sardothien ownership the same pipeline is underwritten at a c.44% discount to NDV.

7.3 The 0.8GW powered-land bank

AttributeDetail
Total power pipeline0.8GW across the portfolio[4]
Application statusMore than half within the power application system[4]
Product strategyColocation and edge data-centre opportunities alongside hyperscale[4]
Stated ambitionFY2025 results frame AI Growth Zone participation as an explicit corporate ambition[4]
Enabling-works sitesSite Alpha, Site Bravo and two further consented sites (names redacted)[4]

7.4 National AI-infrastructure context — the demand wave the Target is selling into

InitiativePartiesScaleStatus
Hyperscaler A UK commitmentHyperscaler A / Nscale$30bn UK investment, Sept 2025; Loughton AI supercomputer 50→90MW, 23,040 GB300 GPUs, Q1 2027Committed[15]
North East AI Growth ZoneBlackstone (£10bn Blyth), Cobalt ParkPotential £30bn, c.5,000 jobs, up to 1.1GWDesignated[16]
Stargate UKOpenAI / NVIDIA / Nscale8,000→31,000 GPUs roadmapAnnounced Sept 2025; OpenAI paused expansion April 2026 citing energy costs & regulation[16][17]
CNI designationUK GovernmentData centres classed Critical National InfrastructureSept 2024[16]
First AI Growth ZoneCulham, OxfordshirePilot designationJan 2025[16]
Kao Data ManchesterKao Data£350M facilityIn development[16]

The Target's land bank is anchored in two of the three northern data-centre clusters: the North West (via a major strategic JV) and the central Northern corridor (Site Alpha, Site Charlie, the Advanced Manufacturing Campus).[4][11] The demand backdrop is real; the OpenAI pause is a reminder that even flagship AI programmes re-sequence around power pricing and regulation.[17]

7.5 Honest assessment of named-interest claims

Verification finding

The April strategy asserts hyperscaler validation from Apple, Google and Oracle. Across all public sources reviewed — RNS filings, planning records, trade press and national media — no public evidence of interest from those parties in the Target land was located. The only named, evidenced hyperscaler relationship is Hyperscaler A (completed Plot 1; pending Plot 2). All other hyperscaler interest is real but unnamed ("several counterparties" on the second site).[14] The investment case should be underwritten on the evidenced track record, not the unverified names.

8. Implications for the Sardothien Thesis & Returns

The deep diligence validates the architecture of the original strategy — powered land as the core mispriced asset — while repricing both the entry and the expected per-acre outcomes. The live Bidder X offer transforms a patient accumulation thesis into a competitive, time-boxed one.

8.1 Thesis scorecard — April strategy vs verified evidence

April 2026 claimVerified evidence (August 2026)Assessment
£727M EPRA NDV / 224p per share£727.3M / 224.4p confirmed at FY2025[4]Confirmed
0.8GW grid energy pipelineConfirmed; >half in application system[4]Confirmed
3M sq ft data-centre envelopeDirectionally supported (Site Alpha c.500k consented; Site Bravo 1.2M; Site Charlie c.0.8M)[12][14]Supported
Hyperscaler A validation of land modelPlot 1 completed £51.2M gross; Plot 2 £53.2M pending; IRR >40%[10][12]Confirmed
Further hyperscaler demandSecond site now in signed exclusivity (19 Aug 2026); pipeline quantified at up to six hyperscale sales / c.0.9GW[14][21]Confirmed & escalated
Apple / Google / Oracle interestNo public evidence located[14]Unverified — exclude
£8–15M per acre data-centre land valueSite Alpha achieved ~£2.2M per acre[10]Recalibrate — 3–6x lower
~246p maximum supportable bidModelled against 224.4p NDV[4]Intact, but contested
Entry at ~125p (May 2026)Pre-empted: Bidder X offer 172.5p; market ~181p[1][2]Repriced

8.2 The repricing problem

The strategy modelled accumulation around 125p with a maximum bid of ~246p against 224.4p NDV. Bidder X's unsolicited 172.5p cash offer (£582.88M) on 6 August 2026 — rejected by the board on 7 August — has set a public floor and started a formal offer-period clock.[1][3] The market trading above the offer (~181p) signals expectations of an improved or competing bid.[2]

BenchmarkPriceImplication
Strategy accumulation zone~125pClosed — no longer available[1]
Bidder X cash offer (6 Aug 2026)172.5pRejected as undervaluing; floor established[1][3]
Market price (post-offer)~181pAbove offer — competition priced[2]
EPRA NDV224.4pBoard's defence anchor[3][4]
Strategy maximum bid~246pc.10% above NDV — requires private value thesis

8.3 Site Alpha as proof of model — and the calibration it demands

Site Alpha proves the exact sequence the strategy proposes to repeat: acquire ex-industrial land cheaply (£3M in 2014), secure power, consent a hyperscale campus, sell plots to a hyperscaler at multiples of book.[10][11] But the achieved price — ~£2.2M per acre — sits well below the £8–15M per acre assumption underpinning the April strategy's £33.3B gross asset value projection.[10] Applying the Site Alpha calibration to the wider 0.8GW land bank materially reduces the modelled terminal values — though the economics remain compelling against a sub-£40M cumulative investment base (Site Alpha: £36.7M invested vs £135.7M total sales).[10]

8.4 Shareholder concentration — the practical path to control

HolderPosition
Bidder X-affiliated vehicles / Bidder X interests~30%[1]
a private investment vehicleMajor holder; top three total 75.7%[4]
a UK pension protection fundMajor holder[4]

With the top three holders controlling ~75.7% of the register, any acquisition is a negotiated transaction with a small number of counterparties — not a market accumulation exercise. Bidder X's ~30% economic interest plus bidder status makes it simultaneously the largest counterparty and the incumbent competitor.[1][4]

8.5 Execution window

Under the Takeover Code, Bidder X must publish its offer document within 28 days of 6 August 2026, with the Day-60 timetable extending into early October.[1][2] A competing proposal must therefore be financed, structured and announced within weeks — or await the offer's lapse. Catalysts inside the window: Plot 2 progress (£53.2M), conversion of the second-site exclusivity into a conditional sale, further announcements from the six-site pipeline, and any updated NDV disclosure.[4][14][21]

8.6 Structuring for a Three-Asset-Class Investor

The in-house base case (March 2026 outline cashflow) assumed the standing Investment Portfolio would be sold in Year 1 for c.£360–366M (a 20% premium to the £305M book value), as the largest single contributor to repaying the c.£740–888M all-in acquisition funding within two to three years.[20] For a three-asset-class investor, that flat break-up wastes the platform: the standing portfolio, the residential engine and the powered-land pipeline each de-risk the others. The tailored structure therefore keeps the income core and re-sequences the monetisation hierarchy:

ElementBase Case (Full Break-Up)Three-Asset-Class Structure
Standing I&L Investment Portfolio (£305M — industrial standing assets only)Sold Year 1 @ ~20% premium (≈£366M)Retained — £18.3M headline rent, 99% occupancy, 11.2-yr WAULT, 6.2% reversionary yield; income compounds to £0.9Bn portfolio target[4][18][20]
Funding bridgePortfolio sale + debt repaymentRetain the c.£250M low-cost facility secured on the portfolio — change-of-control clauses are a priority diligence item; refinance rather than repay where possible[19][20]
Residential platform (£254M book)Sold across Years 1–5Retained and worked — consented plots sold Year 1 (£187M); strategic pipeline consented and sold Years 3–5 (£694M+) with grant support; the primary payback engine[19][20]
Capital return engineAll asset classes soldI&L development & strategic pipeline (£925M assessed sales value) + residential (£881M) + sundry (£31M) fund the payback instead[19][20]
Payback period2–3 yearsExtended — c.£366M of Year-1 proceeds foregone; offset by durable income, yield compression on hold, and overhead cuts (£36.3M admin → c.£18M plan)[19][20]
End stateFully liquidatedStabilised, 100% Grade A income platform (target by end-2027) with hyperscale land optionality retained[4][18]

Net effect for the investor: one acquisition delivers all three asset classes at a c.44% discount to NDV — a 99%-occupied, long-WAULT I&L income portfolio repricing contractually from 4.6% toward 6.2%; a 29,386-plot residential engine assessed at 3.5x book with grant support; and a six-site, c.0.9GW powered-land pipeline with one hyperscale sale complete and a second in exclusivity. Residential and development disposals fund the payback while the income portfolio compounds and the data-centre pipeline matures.[4][14][20][21]

Investment Committee Verdict

THESIS VALIDATED — STRATEGY REQUIRES RECALIBRATION AND SPEED. The core insight is confirmed by completed, audited transactions: powered ex-industrial land in the North of England monetises to hyperscalers at multiples of book, and the Target owns the deepest such pipeline listed in the UK. However: (i) entry at 125p is gone — the Bidder X offer establishes 172.5p as the floor with the market already above it; (ii) per-acre value assumptions must be recalibrated from £8–15M toward the evidenced ~£2.2M Site Alpha benchmark; and (iii) control requires negotiating with a three-party register while Bidder X holds both ~30% and first-mover advantage. The returns case survives; the timetable and the entry mathematics do not. For a three-asset-class investor the structuring answer is retention-plus-monetisation: keep the 99%-occupied, 11.2-year WAULT standing portfolio as the permanent income core, run the 29,386-plot residential pipeline as the payback engine, and let the six-site powered-land programme deliver step-change uplifts on top (see 8.6).

9. Key Risks & Diligence Caveats

Transaction risks

  • Plot 2 conditionality — £53.2M remains subject to planning/delivery conditions; completion could slip beyond 2027.[4]
  • Second-site negotiations may not conclude — "advanced negotiations" is not a contract; counterparty identity and pricing undisclosed.[14]
  • Offer-period dynamics — competing bids in a live Code timetable require committed financing and speed; failure carries reputational and cost consequences.[1]
  • Register concentration — 75.7% held by three parties; no deal is possible without Bidder X-adjacent negotiation.[4]

Fundamental risks

  • Valuation calibration — achieved per-acre values (~£2.2M) are far below the April strategy's assumptions; terminal value projections must be rebuilt.[10]
  • Income coverage — £14.7M passing rent vs £46.9M overheads + interest means the equity story depends on continued land-sales cadence.[4]
  • AI demand re-sequencing — OpenAI's April 2026 Stargate UK pause shows even flagship programmes defer around power costs and regulation.[17]
  • Unverified interest claims — Apple/Google/Oracle assertions could not be evidenced publicly and must be excluded from underwriting.[14]

10. References

  1. [1] Bidder X / the bidding vehicle — unsolicited cash offer of 172.5p per the Target share (£582.88M), RNS via London Stock Exchange / Investegate, 6 August 2026.
  2. [2] Proactive Investors / Morningstar — market reaction and post-offer trading levels, August 2026.
  3. [3] Place North West — the Target board rejection of Bidder X offer as undervaluing the company, 7 August 2026.
  4. [4] the Target — FY2025 preliminary results RNS, 17 March 2026 (EPRA NDV £727.3M / 224.4p; 0.8GW pipeline; WAULT; shareholder register; AI Growth Zone ambition).
  5. [5] the Target — lettings announcement RNS, December 2025 (267,000 sq ft; £2.5M rent; Site Echo Uniserve letting).
  6. [6] Rothbiz / Business Live / Bisnow — the Regional Innovation Asset acquisition (£43.7M, 5.4% NIY, Octopus Energy), October 2024.
  7. [7] the Target press releases — Insight, rijo42, Hardscape, Dunelm, Costa Coffee, Safety Engineering Products, UKAEA, Danieli lettings at the Advanced Manufacturing Campus and the Flagship Logistics Park, 2023–2026.
  8. [8] Place Yorkshire; Baxtel; Site Delta marketing brochure; Advanced Manufacturing Campus reference materials.
  9. [9] Estates Gazette / Place North West — logistics JV (institutional JV partners), Amazon, PLP, MBDA, Aldi transactions; park marketing materials.
  10. [10] QuotedData / the Target RNS — Hyperscaler A Site Alpha land sale, June 2024 (£106.6M total; Plot 1 £52.9M + £0.5M; Plot 2 £53.2M; book values; IRR >40%).
  11. [11] Digitalisation World / Place Yorkshire — Site Alpha site history (2014 £3M acquisition; a third-party operator EfW; BESS lease; Site Charlie; HS2 safeguarding).
  12. [12] the Target RNS — planning resolution for Site Alpha data-centre campus (application [REDACTED]), 27 April 2026; Plot 1 completion £51.2M gross.
  13. [13] Baxtel — LBA10/11/12 campus specifications and construction timeline.
  14. [14] the Target — H1 2026 trading update RNS, 5 August 2026 (second hyperscale site in advanced negotiations; CoStar identification of Site Bravo).
  15. [15] US hyperscaler — $30 billion UK investment announcement, official blog, September 2025 (Nscale AI supercomputer project).
  16. [16] GOV.UK — North East AI Growth Zone, Stargate UK (OpenAI/NVIDIA/Nscale), data-centre CNI designation, Culham AI Growth Zone announcements, 2024–2025.
  17. [17] Computer Weekly / Sifted — OpenAI pauses Stargate UK expansion citing energy costs and regulation, April 2026.
  18. [18] Sardothien in-house schedule — Standing Investment Portfolio composition and key statistics, December 2025 (site areas, 1.0% vacancy, WAULT 11.2 years, NIY 4.6%, reversionary 6.2%, Grade A targets).
  19. [19] Sardothien in-house papers — Project Pegasus briefing and delivery strategy, April–June 2026 (portfolio values by class, funding facilities, overhead-reduction plan, confidentiality and insider-dealing warnings).
  20. [20] Sardothien in-house model — Outline five-year acquisition cashflow, March 2026 (base-case disposal hierarchy, 20% investment-portfolio premium assumption, payback mechanics).
  21. [21] Target RNS — "Update on data centre pipeline": exclusivity agreement with a leading data centre provider; up to six hyperscale land sales; c.0.9GW of accepted/indicated power, 19 August 2026 (re-issued 20 August 2026).